Monaco Map
current time and date
currency: Euro (EUR)
Official languages
Life expectancy
Literacy rate
National anthem
Internet TLD & calling code:
Coat of arms
Monaco profile
second-smallest independent state in the world (after Holy See);

almost entirely urban
Monaco history
The Genoese built a fortress on the site of present day Monaco in 1215.

The current ruling Grimaldi family first seized temporary control in 1297, and again in 1331, but were not able to permanently secure their holding until 1419.

Economic development was spurred in the late 19th century with a railroad linkup to France and the opening of a casino.

Since then, the principality's mild climate, splendid scenery, and gambling facilities have made Monaco world famous as a tourist and recreation center.
interesting Monaco facts
Conventional long form: Principality of Monaco

Conventional short form: Monaco

Local long form: Principaute de Monaco

Local short form: Monaco
fun Monaco facts for kids
Monaco's capital city is Monaco
amazing Monaco facts
Monaco Constitution:

17 December 1962;

modified 2 April 2002
Monaco facts for kids
Monaco population growth rate: -0.066%
Monaco facts for kids
Monaco highest point: Mont Agel 140 m
interesting Monaco facts for kids
Monaco lowest point: Mediterranean Sea 0 m
Monaco fun facts for kids
Monaco birth rate is 7 births/1,000 population
Monaco fun facts for kids
Monaco infant mortality rate is 2 deaths/1,000 live births
Monaco fun facts for kids
Monaco fertility rate is 1.51 children born/woman
Monaco fun facts for kids
Monaco climate:

Mediterranean with mild,

wet winters and hot,

dry summers
interesting Monaco facts
Top 5 cities of Monaco with populations (2012 est.) are:
1. Monaco-Ville: 32,965
2. Monte-Carlo: 16,012
3. La Condamine: 12,167
4. Fontvieille: 3,880
5. Saint-Roman: 3,000
Monaco fun facts for kids
Monaco ethnic groups:

French - 47%
Monegasque - 16%
Italian - 16%
other - 21%
interesting Monaco facts
unicameral National Council or Conseil National (24 seats; 16 members elected by list majority system, 8 by proportional representation to serve five-year terms)

Administrative Divisions:

there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are four quarters (quartiers, singular - quartier);

1. Fontvieille

2. La Condamine

3. Monaco-Ville

4. Monte-Carlo;

note - Moneghetti, a part of La Condamine, is sometimes called the 5th quarter of Monaco
Political parties and leaders:
Horizon Monaco - Laurent NOUVION

Renaissance - SBM (corporation)

Union Monegasque - Stephane VALERI